Australia Skilled Immigration

Australia is an extremely popular destination for highly skilled young people wishing to start a new life in another country. The country’s economy is strong and Australia is actively encouraging the immigration of skilled migrants. Skilled migrants wishing to work in Australia will be assessed on a points based system with points awarded for work experience, qualifications and language proficiency. Other ways of obtaining immigration visas to Australia include the Australian Family Migration and Humanitarian Programs.

Requirements for Immigration:

Beginning 1 July 2012, Australian immigration will be introducing huge changes to their skilled migration program. This represents the most dramatic change to the Australian immigration system in many, many years. It is expected that under the Australian immigration system fewer people will qualify and processing times will be longer. If you wish to come under the current skilled immigration programme you should apply for a skills assessment as soon as possible. You need to be ready with your skills assessment and, have passed the English language test before you can submit your immigration application.

Australian immigration’s new skilled worker program will be called the Skilled Migrant Selection Register, known as Skill Select. In order to apply, you will have to submit an Expression of Interest (EOI). The Skill Select will work as an electronic two-stage process where prospective visa applicants first submit a claim for skilled migration through an online EOI. Following this, applicants may then be invited to submit an Australian visa application on the basis of their EOI.

Submit an Enquiry

This is a really significant change from the current Australian immigration system. It is likely that fewer people will qualify under the new scheme because under the new scheme you will not only need to gain enough points but, in addition, Australia immigration will decide whether or not you will be allowed to submit an application. This is compared to the current system wherein if you gain enough points under the particular visa scheme you are likely to get in.

From 1 July 2012, all new prospective Australian skilled migration visa applicants will have to submit an EOI and wait for an invitation before they can lodge their visa application. For those who have lodged a visa application before that date, Australian immigration will process the application in accordance with any priority processing direction in effect at that time.

Australian visa applicants will be selected based on their points test score in a number of selection criteria. All prospective visa applicants will be required to meet the relevant English language requirements and obtain the necessary skills assessment prior to their EOI submission. However, unlike now you will have to also be approved by Skill Select to obtain your visa.

The Australian immigration process is done in three stages mentioned below.

Skills Assessment: Initially the applicant has to apply for assessment of skills. The relevant assessment body appointed by the immigration department would assess the applicant’s professionals skills and qualification and gives “Positive assessment report”. Simultaneously the applicant has to do IELTS (english language proficiency test). You must score 7 bands in each module of IELTS and your spouse requires 4.5 bands overall. You will have 3-4 months time to do your IELTS test after you initiate the immigration process.

EOI (Expression of Interest): After receiving the skills assessment report the applicant has to apply under EOI and subsequently must apply for state sponsorship. The state sponsorship fee is approximately AUD 300. The immigration department will select applicants from online pool and issues invitation to apply for PR once they receive approval of state sponsorship.

Immigration Application: After the applicant receives invitation he/she would apply for Visa.

NOTE : Australia is now accepting IELTS / PTE & TOEFL.




18-24 25-32 33-39 40-44 45 & Above
25 Points 30 Points 25 Points 15 Points 0 Points


Work Experience

Three Years Five Years Eight Years
5 Points 10 Points 15 Points



Bachelor / Master Degree Ph D
15 Points 20 Points


English Language(IELTS)

0 Points 10 Points 20 Points

Partner Skills : 05 Points

Sponsorship by State Or Territory Government : 05 Points

Sponsorship by Family / Regional Australia : 10 Points